Equality, diversity and inclusion group in Life Sciences

Responsible for ensuring a coordinated approach to all our Equality, Diversity and Inclusion (EDI) activities and driving forward actions in support of enhancing our diversity and inclusion.

On this page

The School of Life Sciences Athena SWAN self-assessment team (SAT) is a diverse group of people that have the culture of our School at heart and work to create an inclusive and welcoming environment for staff and students alike. The Associate Dean for Professional Culture sits on the committee alongside representatives from each division, postgraduate researchers, PhD and undergraduate students reps, professional services, technical, and academic related staff. Each member of the committee supports the School in drafting and delivering our ambitious Athena SWAN action plan.

Silver Athena SWAN award holder

athena swan silver award logo

As of October 2018, the School is a proud recipient of the Athena SWAN Silver Award.

Read our redacted application and action plan

ED&I /Athena SWAN committee

We hold meetings quarterly but with our next Athena SWAN application due soon, we are currently meeting monthly. 

Committee members

Name Role Email
Zoe Hirons Research Administration Lead Z.Hirons@dundee.ac.uk
Dr Kasper Rasmussen Principal Investigator k.d.rasmussen@dundee.ac.uk
Dr Helge Dorfmueller Principal Investigator H.C.Z.Dorfmueller@dundee.ac.uk
Monica Lacey LABSe Technical Services Lead and H and S Officer m.lacey@dundee.ac.uk
Professor Inke Nathke Professor, Associate Dean for Professional Culture i.s.nathke@dundee.ac.uk
Professor Geoffrey Barton Professor g.j.barton@dundee.ac.uk
Letitia Gibson Research Technical Services Lead l.m.gibson@dundee.ac.uk
Viviene Gibson HR Business Partner V.L.Gibson@dundee.ac.uk
Neil Bowie Business Partner n.r.bowie@dundee.ac.uk
Dr Sarah McKim Principal Investigator s.mckim@dundee.ac.uk
Debbie Tarver Personal Assistant d.tarver@dundee.ac.uk
Dr Ananya Kar Senior Research Associate a.kar@dundee.ac.uk
George Simmonds Equality and Diversity Officer gsimmonds001@dundee.ac.uk
Dr Leeanne McGurk Principal Investigator lmcgurk001@dundee.ac.uk

Undergraduate and postgraduate student representation

Christa Baker – PhD Representative 

Undergraduate Athena SWAN Committee. To join the committee email us at SLS-AthenaSWAN-Admin@dundee.ac.uk 

Contact us

SLS Athena SWAN Team: SLS-AthenaSWAN@dundee.ac.uk 

Parental Leave Champion

University Equality, Diversity and Inclusion  

Find information and support on equality, diversity, and inclusion at the University of Dundee. This includes further details on staff networks, key support contacts and university policies and procedures.  

Equality, Diversity and Inclusion

University policies and action plans