Research integrity in Life Sciences

To promote a culture adhering to the highest possible standards of research integrity in the School.

On this page

Good research practice forms the cornerstone of scientific activity. It allows others to have trust and confidence in the results produced. The School takes a proactive approach in this area and contributes at the University, Scottish and UK levels.  

Research Integrity Group

The School of Life Sciences Research Integrity Group (RIG) is responsible for supporting and promoting a culture that leads to the highest possible standards of research integrity in the School. Its activities include:  

  • Advocacy of the importance of, and requirement for, research integrity

  • Promotion and delivery of research integrity training 

  • Developing processes to support research integrity 

  • Provision of advice on research integrity issues (including advice to researchers who may be considering whether or not to make an allegation of research misconduct) 

  • Maintaining an anonymous log of issues raised to inform training requirements 

  • Reporting and making recommendations to the Dean and School Board  

  • Participating in University-wide research integrity training and support networks to share best practice 

Nationally, we also contribute to this area. The Scottish Research Integrity Network was co-founded by Professor Inke Näthke with a colleague at the University of Edinburgh in 2019. Professor Näthke is also a member of the UK Research Integrity Office (UKRIO) Board of Trustees. UKRIO helps institutions to achieve high standards in research integrity by “offering support to the public, researchers and organisations to further good practice in academic, scientific and medical research”. 

Professor Inke Näthke is the convenor of the University’s Research Governance & Policy Sub-Committee. This group is responsible for ensuring that the governance and policy context for the undertaking of research within the University is optimal. University level information and guidance is available in the Research Governance and Policy Handbook. 

Group members

Name Role Email
Dr Rosemary Clarke Flow Cytometry Facilitator r.z.clarke@dundee.ac.uk
Dr Ian Ganley Scientific Programme Leader (MRC) i.ganley@dundee.ac.uk
Dr Piers Hemsley Principal Investigator p.a.hemsley@dundee.ac.uk
Dr David Murray Principal Investigator and Sir Henry Dale Fellow d.h.murray@dundee.ac.uk
Dr Marios Stavridis Senior Lecturer, Associate Dean for Learning and Teaching M.Stavridis@dundee.ac.uk
Dr Clive Randall Research and Governance Office c.randall@dundee.ac.uk
Dr Paul Davies ad hoc member p.y.davies@dundee.ac.uk
Contact us  

Research Integrity Group: SLS-RIG@dundee.ac.uk