Research Governance and Policy Sub-committee

Updated on 14 February 2023

Information about the remit and membership of the Research Governance and Policy sub-committee, which is a committee of Senate.

On this page

The University’s Research Governance & Policy Sub-Committee is responsible for ensuring that the governance and policy context for the undertaking of research within the University is optimal.  The Sub-Committee reports to the University Research and Knowledge Exchange Committee.

Remit of the Sub-Committee

  • reviewing governance processes and associated research and related policy extant at both University and the local level, and identifying need for improvement and development including the involvement of external stakeholders;
  • establishing systems which accommodate the needs of good institutional governance, that are externally accountable and which take into account the diversity of the institution’s research activities;
  • ensuring that institutional research governance processes are transparent and inclusive and are well communicated throughout the University;
  • promoting “buy-in” by facilitating dialogue and dissemination of good and consistent practice across the Schools;
  • attempting to minimize the burden of governance and policy demands on research staff commensurate with achieving high levels of internal and external confidence in the University’s processes.

Membership of the Sub-Committee

  • Professor Inke Nathke (Convener), Professor of Epithelial Biology and Associate Dean for Professional Culture, School of Life Sciences
  • Dr Paul Davies, MRC PPU Unit Manager, School of Life Sciences
  • Dr Beth Hannah, Reader, Educational Psychology, School of Humanities, Social Sciences and Law and Convener, DORA Working Group
  • Dr Nicholas Helps, Head of Safety Services, People
  • Professor Linda Martindale, Dean, School of Health Sciences and Chair of the TASC Governance and Oversight Committee 
  • Moya Fox, Research Services Manager, Library Services, Library Learning Culture and Information
  • Sarah Thomson, Director of Biological Services
  • Professor Colin Palmer, Chair of Pharmacogenomics, School of Medicine
  • Professor Russell Petty, Professor of Medical Oncology, School of Medicine and Director of Research & Development, NHS Tayside, Tayside Medical Science Centre (TASC)
  • Dr Clive Randall, Research Policy Manager, Research and Innovation Services
  • Dr Josephine Ross, Reader, Psychology, School of Humanities, Social Sciences and Law and Convener, University Research Ethics Committee (UREC) 
  • Professor Emanuele Trucco, NRP Chair of Computational Vision, Computing, School of Science and Engineering 
  • Dr Roger van Gompel, Reader, Psychology, School of Humanities, Social Sciences and Law
  • Hannah Whaley, Director of Library Services, Library Learning Culture and Information

Secretary: Nicola Milne, Administrative Officer (Research), Research and Innovation Services

Corporate information category Senate