Molecular, Cell and Developmental Biology (MCDB)

Molecular mechanisms that underpin cellular biology and how these are corrupted in disease states.

On this page

We investigate the molecular mechanisms that underpin cell and tissue biology. This includes the regulation of cell division and how the expression and function of genes and proteins are regulated during differentiation in embryonic and adult tissues. Increasingly, tissue models provide a means of uncovering how these processes are perturbed in human diseases.

To facilitate our research, we have established shared resources for advanced technologies including Microscopy, Human Pluripotent Cell culture, Proteomics, and Data analysis. We find that collaboration is an effective and enjoyable way of working across scales and facilitating the translation of our discoveries.

Heads of Division

Deputy Heads of Division

Academic Staff

Associates

Teaching team alignment

Emeritus

Key contacts

Name Role Email
Wendy James Lab Manager MCDB-labmanagers@dundee.ac.uk
Jane Davidson Lab Manager MSIHub-Labmanagers@dundee.ac.uk
Rachel Morris Laboratory Technician mcdb-tech@dundee.ac.uk
Jessica Blackburn Technician MSIHub-Tech@dundee.ac.uk
Cara Anderson Division Secretary mcdb-admin@dundee.ac.uk
Angie Blake Secretary mcdb-admin@dundee.ac.uk

Divisional Representatives and Teams

Name Role Email
Elisenda Raga Gil Postgraduate representative 2392409@dundee.ac.uk
Anna Fleming Postgraduate representative afleming001@dundee.ac.uk
Dr Peter Gillespie Postdoctoral researcher representative P.J.Gillespie@dundee.ac.uk
Dr Hedda Meijer Postdoctoral researcher representative hmeijer001@dundee.ac.uk
Dr Jens Januschke Public Engagement Champion j.januschke@dundee.ac.uk
Dr Kasper Rasmussen Athena SWAN team k.d.rasmussen@dundee.ac.uk
Dr Leeanne McGurk Athena SWAN team lmcgurk001@dundee.ac.uk
Dr Constance Alabert Seminar programme organiser c.alabert@dundee.ac.uk
Professor Kees Weijer Digital strategy representative c.j.weijer@dundee.ac.uk
Professor Tom Owen-Hughes Digital strategy representative t.a.owenhughes@dundee.ac.uk