About the Leverhulme Research Centre for Forensic Science

On this page

The Leverhulme Research Centre for Forensic Science (LRCFS) is funded by the Leverhulme Trust.

We are an interdisciplinary research team, the largest in the UK, dedicated to the improvement of the robustness and quality of the science underpinning evidence presented within the criminal and civil courts

LRCFS is a ten-year £10 Million project with the remit to disrupt positively the current forensic science ecosystem. We set aside conventional siloed ways of thinking, embrace new opportunities from across the broad academic research and industry landscape and work with practitioners from the crime scene to the court room to explore new ways of resolving old challenges and develop future opportunities. We drive innovation that enables reliable science to be used in the delivery of justice.

The Centre has a vibrant, dynamic and agile team blending, public engagement, statistics, natural sciences, social sciences and legal domains together to solve real world problems.

Senior Management Team

Name Role
Professor Niamh Nic Daeid Director of LRCFS, Professor of Forensic Science
Marj Davis Research Centre Manager
Dr Anne Coxon Professor of Practice in Forensic Science and Deputy Director

Advisory Board

Name Role
Muir Russell Advisory Board
Chris Van der Kuyl Advisory Board
Mark Wall Advisory Board
John Innes Advisory Board
Dr Sheila Willis Advisory Board

Honorary Fellows

Name Role
Linzi Wilson-Wilde Honorary Fellow
Eva Ljungkvist Honorary Fellow
Ali Ross Honorary Fellow
Keith Inman Honorary Fellow
Laura Lindenfeld Honorary Fellow
Dr Nick Carey Honorary Fellow
Paul Reedy Honorary Fellow
Dr Sheila Willis Honorary Fellow
Dr Grant Thomson Honorary Fellow
Mike Galloway Honorary Fellow