Gender Based Violence- support for staff

This page is for staff who have been affected by gender-based violence or who have received a disclosure of gender-based violence

On this page
Is it an emergency?

If you are off-campus and it’s an emergency, please call 999.

If you are on campus and it’s an emergency which requires an ambulance, please call the Security emergency line on 4141 on city campus or 2222 from Ninewells, 9-999 from Kirkcaldy. Please call +44 (0)1382 384141 if using a mobile phone.

If no ambulance is required please contact the Security Team on +44 (0)1382 385850 or if you are close by to one of the Assistance points installed around campus, press the red button to be connected to the Security Team.

Gender-based violence (GBV) is a term that covers a range of abuse and can include:

  • domestic abuse
  • rape and sexual assault
  • child sexual abuse
  • stalking, sexual harassment and intimidation
  • commercial sexual exploitation including prostitution, pornography and trafficking
  • dowry-related abuse
  • female genital mutilation
  • forced marriage

Gender-based violence can affect anyone at any point during their lives. It affects people in different ways, but it can often lead to victim/survivors feeling alone, isolated, angry and worried. It can also lead to depression, anxiety, flashbacks, sleep problems, problems with eating, and being unable to concentrate.

Support

We are committed to ensuring that our campuses are a safe place and that we support staff to achieve their full potential. We have made our statement on GBV available.

First Responders

If you have been affected by gender-based violence and would like to speak to someone, you may contact our First Responders. These colleagues are a trained network of staff who can listen and provide a respectful, non-judgemental and supportive environment whilst outlining your options to report.

Dr Dumiso Moyo D.Moyo@dundee.ac.uk
Dr Kevin McConville K.McConville@dundee.ac.uk
Dr Louise Stanley l.z.stanley@dundee.ac.uk
Dr Mohammad Islam m.r.y.islam@dundee.ac.uk
Miss Ailen Geraghty a.geraghty@dundee.ac.uk
Miss Joanne Bradley j.v.bradley@dundee.ac.uk
Mr David Melville D.Melville@dundee.ac.uk
Mr Mark Skeldon M.Skeldon@dundee.ac.uk
Mr Sean Reilly s.t.reilly@dundee.ac.uk
Mr Stuart Butler s.x.butler@dundee.ac.uk
Mrs Carolyn Johnstone c.c.johnstone@dundee.ac.uk
Mrs Dianne Cantali d.l.cantali@dundee.ac.uk
Mrs Jacquie Garbett j.garbett@dundee.ac.uk
Mrs Marj Davis m.davis@dundee.ac.uk