Rewarding public engagement

Information about public engagement awards and prizes.

On this page

University of Dundee Awards

Each year the Stephen Fry Award for Excellence in Public Engagement with Research rewards our staff and students who's research and public engagement have transformed lives locally and globally.

Stephen Fry Award for Excellence in Public Engagement with Research

Public Engagement Prizes and Competitions

Research Councils and other public bodies also run their own public engagement awards. 

OrganisationName of AwardDetails
Society of BiologyOutreach and Engagement AwardsThe Outreach and Engagement Awards are intended to reward outreach work carried out by new scientists and established researchers to inform, enthuse and engage the public. Awards are in two categories: New Researcher and Established Researchers.
History of Science SocietySinger MedalThe prize, of up to £300, is awarded every two years to the writer of an unpublished essay, based on original research into any aspect of the history of science, technology or medicine.
Society for Social Studies of ScienceLudwick Fleck book prizeAwarded annually for the best book in the area of science and technology studies.
Royal SocietyMichael Faraday prizeThe Royal Society Michael Faraday Prize is the United Kingdom's premier award for science communication and is awarded annually for excellence in communicating science to UK audiences.
Royal SocietyThe Royal Society Prize for Science BooksThe Royal Society Prize for Science Books celebrates the very best in popular science writing. Ever since the Prizes were originally established in 1988 they have had the same aim - to encourage the writing, publishing and reading of good and accessible popular science books. They have grown to become one of the UK's most prestigious non-fiction literary prizes.
Manchester Science FestivalJosh AwardThe Josh Award is an annual award that recognises excellence and innovation in science engagement. The award is open to anyone involved in science engagement, who is recognised as an up and coming talent, with innovative and new ideas. Previous winners include Chris Smith from the Naked Scientists, Karen Bultitude from the University of the West of England and David Price from Science Made Simple.
Medical Research CouncilMax Perutz Science Writing AwardIf you are an MRC-funded PhD student with an interest in communicating your science to a wider audience, the Max Perutz Science Writing Award competition is for you. You will need to, in no more than 800 words, write about your research in a way that would interest a lay audience. Why is it important? Why does it interest you? and why should it interest the reader?

If we have missed an award for public engagement, especially in the Art and Humanities subjects, please send us the details.

Contact information