Recognition for teaching staff Graham Christie and David Martin

Published on 24 November 2017

The contributions of Dr Graham Christie and Dr David Martin from the D’Arcy Thompson Unit (DTU) and Biological and Biomedical Sciences Education (BBSE) have been acknowledged externally and by the School recently.

On this page

Graham has been promoted to Senior Lecturer in the recent round of promotions and has been made a Fellow of the Physiological Society (FPhysiol). David has been made a Fellow of the Higher Education Academy (FHEA). Dr Nick Brewer, Associate Dean Learning and Teaching said, “I was delighted to hear about both Graham becoming a Fellow of the Physiological Society and David becoming a Fellow of the Higher Education Academy. The professional approach to their work and boundless enthusiasm of both of my colleagues is well known within the School and for it to be recognised externally is a wonderful achievement for them both.”

Dr Graham Christie

Dr Graham Christie FHEA has been awarded promotion in recognition of leadership in his role as Programme Lead for Levels 1 and 2 (core-curriculum). This includes overseeing ~400 students and 27 modules, his engagement in the management, delivery and assessment across a range of programmes offered by SLS, SoM and Dentistry, and his contribution over recent years as School lead for undergraduate employability, enterprise and entrepreneurship. In addition to obtaining promotion, Graham has been made a Fellow of The Physiological Society (FPhysiol).  Fellowship status is awarded to individuals that have been members of The Society for at least a decade. In order to obtain Fellowship status, Graham had to provide evidence of leadership and innovation in physiology teaching and education.

Speaking of his recent promotion and award Graham said “I’m delighted to receive promotion from lecturer to senior lecturer in recognition of my role as Programme Lead for the Undergraduate Core-curriculum at Dundee, as well as my other roles and responsibilities in the University and wider sector.  To also become a Fellow of The Physiological Society is a great honour and I’d like to thank The Society for this award.  My first interaction with The Society was as an undergraduate student when Hari Hundal secured funding from them to allow me to undertake a summer project in his research group.  After completing my PhD at Newcastle, I become a full member and since starting as lecturer at Dundee in 2005 I’ve been an active member of the Education and Teaching theme group of The Society.”

Dr David Martin

Dr David Martin qualified for FHEA through the completion of a recognised Postgraduate Certificate in Teaching in Higher Education (PgCertTHE). David began this in 2007 shortly after he became involved in undergraduate teaching. David said, “I was aware that there was a lot of expertise and innovation in teaching and I wanted to learn more so I took the Online Assessment module.”

This led to David registering for the full PgCertTHE with the support of his Line Manager. He completed this over the next few years, finally being granted the award in 2011. “The process of gaining the award and completing the assessments was challenging. It requires a hard scientist to take on a new frame of reference and set of values in how information and effort is evaluated. It wasn’t always an easy ride as my mentors through the process, Dr Brewer and Dr Anderson can testify!” explained David. “The delay in FHEA status was purely administrative. I was not really concerned about the recognition as a scientist, but as a lecturer I feel it is important to ensure that these qualifications are recognised as students are ever more conscious about the quality of teaching they receive. The FHEA is a nationally recognised qualification that can demonstrate to prospective students that the staff they will interact with are interested and competent in teaching, as well as part of a world leading research environment.”   

David joins other Fellows in the School which include Graham Christie, Hari Hundal, Nick Brewer, Jenny Woof, Jane Illes and Amy Cameron. Marios Stavridis is an Associate Member of the HEA.

Story category Awards and accolades