Poster Prize Winners from Annual Research Symposium Announced

Published on 25 April 2024

Last month, the School of Life Sciences held their annual Research Symposium at Crieff Hydro. Talks were given by Principal Investigators, Facility Leads, Postdoctoral Researchers and PhD students including SLS Prize winners.

On this page

From left Nicole Ong, Vasudha Tandon, Vikram Tejwani, Rotimi Fasimoye, Catriona Liggett

The Keynote was given by Professor Corné Pieterse from Utrecht University with a talk entitled, ‘Host-microbiome interactions and plant immunity’. Invited speakers, Isla Mackenzie and Tim Hales, from the School of Medicine also spoke. 

Each evening of the two-day symposium, poster sessions took place with prizes awarded to the following people:

Joint 1st Prize: 

  • Nicole Ong, a PhD Student in Henry McSorley’s lab in CSI with a poster entitled, ‘Role and Control of IL-33 and Mast Cell Responses in Intestinal Helminth Infection’
  • Vasudha Tandon, a PhD Student from Sourav Banerjee’s lab in the School of Medicine with a poster entitled, ‘Novel brain penetrant PI3K/PDGFR/WNT pathway inhibitor that reduces proliferation and cancer stemness in glioblastoma’

Joint 2nd Prize winners: 

  • Vikram Tejwani, a PhD Student in John Rouse’s lab in the MRC-PPU with a poster entitled, ‘Investigating the therapeutic potential of Werner syndrome helicase (WRN)’
  • Rotimi Fasimoye, a postdoctoral researcher from Dario Alessi’s group in the MRC-PPU with a poster entitled, ‘Golgi-IP, a novel tool for multimodal analysis of Golgi molecular content’ 
  • Catriona Liggett, a PhD Student in James Cantley’s group from Cellular and Systems Medicine in the School of Medicine with a poster entitled, ‘The role of protein S-acylation in pancreatic β cell function’

Evening entertainment included a quiz organised by PiCLS, the School’s postgraduate society, on the Thursday and a ceilidh on the Friday. 

Thanks to Mahima Swamy, Gayle Gray, Carol Urquhart and Claire Halpin for organising such a fantastic event and to PiCLS and the poster judges.

Story category Awards and accolades