The University’s Research Governance & Policy Sub-Committee is responsible for ensuring that the governance and policy context for the undertaking of research within the University is optimal.  The Sub-Committee reports to the University Research and Knowledge Exchange Committee.

Remit of the Sub-Committee

  • reviewing governance processes and associated research and related policy extant at both University and the local level, and identifying need for improvement and development including the involvement of external stakeholders;
  • establishing systems which accommodate the needs of good institutional governance, that are externally accountable and which take into account the diversity of the institution’s research activities;
  • ensuring that institutional research governance processes are transparent and are well communicated throughout the University;
  • promoting “buy-in” by facilitating dialogue and dissemination of good and consistent practice across the Schools;
  • attempting to minimize the burden of governance and policy demands on research staff commensurate with achieving high levels of internal and external confidence in the University’s processes.

Membership of the Sub-Committee

  • Dr Elizabeth Hannah (Interim Convener), Senior Lecturer, Education, School of Education and Social Work and Convener, University Research Ethics Committee
  • Dr Michael Brown, Reader, Civil Engineering, School of Science and Engineering
  • Dr Paul Davies, MRC PPU Unit Manager, School of Life Sciences
  • Professor Jacob George, Professor of Cardiovascular Medicine and Therapeutics and Director of Research & Development, NHS Tayside, Tayside Medical Science Centre (TASC)
  • Dr Nicholas Helps, Head of Safety Services, Human Resources
  • Professor Lynn Kilbride, Dean of the School of Health Sciences and Convener, TASC Research Governance Committee
  • John McCaffery, Research Services Manager, Research and Resources, Library and Learning and Culture and Information 
  • Dr Luke Newman, Director of Biological Services
  • Professor Colin Palmer, Chair of Pharmacogenomics and Associate Dean for Research, School of Medicine
  • Dr Clive Randall, Research Policy Manager, Academic & Corporate Governance
  • Dr Murray Simpson, Reader, Social Work, School of Education & Social Work
  • Hannah Whaley, Assistant Director (Research & Systems), Library and Learning and Culture and Information

 Secretary: Nicola Millar, Administrative Officer (Research), Academic & Corporate Governance