School of Science and Engineering 2023/24 summer prize-winners

Published on 11 June 2024

Congratulations to all our graduands who have been awarded prizes by the School of Science and Engineering

On this page

School Prizes

Nomination for the Wimberley Award

  • Kai Uerlichs

Nomination for the Sir James Black Award

  • Juanhua Zhang

British Association 1939 Prize and Medal

  • Mark Campbell

The Cullwick Prize

  • Gergana Dimitrova

Fidler & Steggall Prize

  • Simon Warburton-Pitt

Fulton Prize

  • Lily Towers

John Harris Prize

  • Gergana Dimitrova

Winifred Mackie Smith Prize

  • Harry Sidhu

Mott, Hay and Anderson Prize

  • Maria Kountouri

William Hendry Brown Prize

  • Katy McGowan

Angus Fulton Post Graduate Prize

  • Yaseen Sharif

David Ovenstone Prize

  • Jonathan Whyte

Peter G Lecomber Prize

  • Simone Scali

Annual Dawson Anatomy Fund

  • Martina Mosna

Douglas Samuel Jones Prize Jointly awarded to

  • Shaun Doyle
  • Lucia Beltran Allegue

Duff and Garland Bursary

  • Jonathan Main

James Durham Bursary

  • Niamh McElhinney

Laing Bursary

  • Elena Kelleher
  • Duncan Smith

Armitstead Bursary

  • Lilith Kaffka

Stephen Williamson Bursary

  • Struan Cooper

Boyack Physics and Computing Bursary

  • Lily Berwick

Nomination for the David Peattie Prize

  • Valeriy Willetts

Biomedical Engineering

IET Student Prize (Institution of Engineering and Technology

  • Fergus Morison
  • Seoras Cuthbert

Class Prize Level 4

  • Alison Dalgleish

Class Prize Level 4 JEP

  • Juanhua Zhang

Class Prize Level 3

  • Mohammad Kouli

Class Prize Level 2

  • Spy Suttrasirikul

Class Prize Level 1

  • Eva Kirkham

Biomedical Engineering Open Prize

  • Harry Pitts
  • Kirsten Gillies

Anatomy and Human Identification

Anatomical Sciences Project Prize

  • Lorna Brockbank

Anatomical Sciences Honours Prize

  • Chloe Ward

Forensic Anthropology Project Prize

  • Sam Li

Forensic Anthropology Honours Prize

  • Maja Beck

Module Prize Level 3 Embryology

  • Hope Leahy

Module Prize Level 3 Histology 1

  • Annie Millman

Module Prize Level 3 Gross Anatomy 1

  • Struan Cooper

Module Prize Level 3 Histology 2

  • Martina Mosna

Module Prize Level 3 Research Methods

  • Mila Walden

Module Prize Level 3 Gross Anatomy 2

  • Sarah Kung

Module Prize Level 2 Introductory Anatomy

  • Aimee Curd

Module Prize Level 2 Comparative Anatomy

  • Kelsey Hammond

Module Prize Level 1 Introduction to Biological Anthropology

  • Caitlin Stark

Lippincott Human Anatomy Prize

  • Sarah Kung

Artivay Anatomy Award

  • Marcel Al-Horoub

Sir James McKenzie Prize

  • Musab Quayum

CAHID Open Prize

  • Tegan George

Civil Engineering

The Institution of Civil Engineers Student Prize

  • Martyna Bednarska

Institution of Structural Engineers Prize

  • Katy McGowan

ICE Scottish Geotechnical Group Prize

  • Ewan Brown

David Smith Prize jointly awarded to

  • Evgeniia Rosenzweig
  • Ivan Puhach

Class Prize Level 5 MEng jointly awarded to

  • Maria Kountouri
  • Martyna Bednarska

Class Prize Level 4 MEng

  • Lily Towers

Class Prize Level 4 BEng

  • Ruby Stuart

Class Prize Level 3

  • Frank Fry

Class Prize Level 2

  • Selena Littlewood

Class Prize Level 1

  • Evgeniia Rosenzweig

Civil Engineering Open Prize

  • Robbie Hardie


John Gibson Award

  • Kai Uerlichs

Best Student in Data Science and Engineering

  • Ashish Tom

Best Project in Data Science and Engineering

  • Cassandra Akut

Best Student in Education Assisted Technology

  • Eimer Galloway

Best Project in Education Assisted Technology

  • Eimer Galloway

Best Overall Student

  • Zvonimir Delas

Class Prize Applied Computing

  • Marlon D'Ambrosio

Class Prize Computing Science

  • Kai Uerlichs

Certificate for Outstanding Achievement in Honours Project

  • Daryna Hnatenko
  • Vera Tykesson Borvinski
  • David Topping
  • Zvonimir Delas

Class Prize Level 3 Computing Science

  • Douglas Inglis

Class Prize Level 3 Applied Computing jointly awarded to

  • Kayee Liu
  • Alba Henderson

Class Prize Level 2 Computing Science

  • Danyl Kecha

Class Prize Level 1 Computing Science

  • Lewis McGuire

Class Prize Level 1 Applied Computing

  • Becky Tyler

Computing Open Prize

  • Daryna Hnatenko
  • Andrii Sultanov


Institute of Mathematics and its Applications Prize jointly awarded to

  • Mark Campbell
  • Ellen Finnie

Charles Dixon Prize jointly awarded to

  • Alex Law
  • Saif Akhtar

Class Prize Level 4 jointly awarded to

  • Michał Zięć
  • Mac Cook

Class Prize Level 3

  • Simon Warburton-Pitt

Class Prize Level 2

  • Lilith Kaffka

Class Prize Level 1

  • Shanjana Munshi

Mechanical and Industrial Engineering

iMechE Best Project Award

  • Sophie Morrison

iMechE Best Project Certificate

  • Calvin Fraser

iMechE Best Student Certificate

  • Gergana Dimitrova

iMechE The Frederic Barnes Waldron Best Student Award

  • Fergus Rice

Industrial Engineering Best Student Overall

  • Badarudeen Kalappurakkal Mohiyudeen

Class Prize Level 4 Mechanical Engineering

  • Gergana Dimitrova

Class Prize Level 4 Mechanical Engeering with Renewables

  • Daniel Zareckis

Class Prize Level 3 Mechanical Engineering

  • James Wilson

Class Prize Level 3 Mechanical Engineering with Renewables

  • Holly Rankin

Class Prize Level 2 Mechancial Engineering with Renewables

  • Joseph Usher

Class Prize Level 1 Mechanical Engineering

  • Rokayya Panchbhaya

Mechanical Engineering Open Prize

  • Caitlin Burns


Walter Spears Prize

  • Ernesto Mustienes Rando

Class Prize Level 5

  • Keigan Nicoll

Class Prize Level 4

  • Laura Dulya Fernandez

Class Prize Level 3

  • Sophia Weir

Class Prize Level 2

  • Harry Sidhu

Class Prize Level 1 jointly awarded to

  • Jacob Smith
  • Sophie Green

Physics Open Prize

  • Francesco Tamburi
  • Marcus Muniz
Story category Awards and accolades