Leaders from 20 UK Medical Schools visit Dundee School of Medicine

Published on 6 June 2024

Dundee School of Medicine is welcoming the prestigious 2024 National Medical Schools Secretaries Conference Thursday June 6 and Friday June 7.

On this page

Representatives from 20 UK medical schools are visiting Dundee as part of the event. They’ll take part in discussions on various topics related to learning, teaching, and medical research. The conference is an annual opportunity for networking, showcasing achievements at school, university, and city levels.

As part of their visit, professional services leaders from Oxford, Cambridge and Cardiff amongst many others will attend today’s conference at the University’s Dalhousie building. This evening, they’ll visit Dundee’s V&A Museum and tomorrow the conference will round off at the city’s School of Medicine campus at Ninewells Hospital.

Dr Katie Petty-Saphon CEO from the MSC (Medical School's Council) and Martin Hart - Assistant Director from the GMC (General Medical Council) will also be present and providing their annual updates. 

This year’s conference lead, Kara Knight from University of Dundee School of Medicine said: “This year, we have the honour of hosting, rotating the responsibility among medical schools (Universities), and we look forward to welcoming medical school leaders from across the UK.  

“I always enjoy our visits to other universities for this conference, and listening to the excellent work that they do. We eagerly anticipate an inspiring and productive conference this year and can't wait to welcome our visitors to Dundee.”

The following 20 UK Medical Schools registered and attending

  • University of St Andrews
  • University of Sheffield
  • Hull York Medical School
  • University of Glasgow
  • University of Liverpool
  • University of Manchester
  • University of Warwick
  • Cambridge University
  • University of Oxford
  • Queen's University Belfast
  • Brighton & Sussex University
  • UCL Medical School
  • Newcastle University
  • Kent and Medway University 
  • University of Bristol
  • University of Birmingham
  • Imperial College London
  • Bangor University
  • Cardiff University
  • University of Aberdeen
Story category Conferences