Congratulations to the 2019 Stephen Fry Award winners!

A photograph of the 2019 Stephen Fry Award winners for Excellence in Public Engagement with Research (Left to right)Prof Niamh Nic Daeid, Prof Annie Anderson and Prof Bob Steele.

‌Congratulations to Professor Niamh Nic Daeid (Engaged Researcher of the Year) and Professors Annie Anderson and Bob Steele (Engagement Project of the Year - The Centre for Research into Cancer Prevention and Screening) for their well-deserved awards, presented to them by the Principal at Discovery Days 2019.

The Stephen Fry Awards for Excellence in Public Engagement with Research recognise the work of our outstanding staff and students in engaging a wider audience with the University's research and the many benefits this can bring to society.

Follow this link to find out more about all of the winners of the Stephen Fry Awards.

Two Award Categories

To recognise the different approaches to engaging the public with research, the University awards winning applications and commendations in each of the following categories.

• The Public Engagement Project of the Year is awarded to a team of up to six persons who have led a project that has made outstanding contributions to public engagement with research.

• The Engaged Researcher of the Year is awarded to an individual who has shown excellence in engaging the public with the University’s research.

Nomination Forms and Guidance

The nomination process for the 2020 Stephen Fry Awards will open in August 2019.

Contact Us

If you have any questions or comments about the Stephen Fry Awards please contact Dr Jon Urch at or phone 01382 386669.