Revealing Research and the School of Medicine are pleased to continue support for the Ian Stevenson Award for Excellence in Public Engagement with Research.

This Award recognises the work of outstanding communicators at the School of Medicine towards improving understanding of the research of the School and University to a wider audience. It is a measure of how strongly public outreach is supported at both University and School levels at the University of Dundee.

The Award is named in honour of one of our most distinguished former colleagues, the late Professor Ian Stevenson. Ian made outstanding contributions to education here at the University's Department of Neuroscience. He was also the chairman of Dundee Science Centre, formerly Sensation, from 1999-2005 and was heavily involved in getting the project off the ground.

The annual prize is open to individuals or groups of up to six School of Medicine staff and students. The recipients will receive a certificate of recognition and prize money of £500 that they can use towards their future public activities.

We welcome nominations that detail the breadth and depth of research performed at the School of Medicine.

Eligibility and Nominations

To be eligible, the nominated work must have been carried out in the past two years.

Nominees must be staff employed or students studying at the School.

If you applied in a previous year we would encourage you to update and resubmit your application.

Forms and Guidance

Nominations received in the University's annual Stephen Fry Awards for Excellence in Public Engagement from the School of Medicine will be entered in the Ian Stevenson Public Engagement Award.

Previous Winners

In 2015 - Prof Ruth Freeman won the Ian Stevenson Prize for her outstanding contribution to improving the dental health of disadvantaged people in our prisons. Ruth works closely with NHS Boards on oral health promotion.

In 2014, Prof Colin Palmer, Prof Frank Sullivan, Shobna Vasishta; Shona Brearley; Victoria Edwards and Ellie Dow were awarded the Ian Stevenson prize. This was for their outstanding work in engaging the public in the GoShare project. Go Share encourages the public to donate blood to allow them to study diseases in large populations. In addition, Dr Jenny Woof was awarded £250 to reward her excellent public engagement efforts in engaging schools with science and delivering multiple science image competitions.

In 2013, Professors Annie Anderson and Bob Steele were awarded the third Ian Stevenson Award, for creating and leading the Scottish Cancer Prevention NetworkThe Scottish Cancer Prevention network is focussed on moving evidence on reducing cancer risk into everyday life, practice and policy. 

In 2012, Prof Graham Ogden was awarded the Ian Stevenson prize for his work in raising awareness of oral cancer and how cancers can increase with excessive drinking. Graham has shared his research findings with students across Scotland and the public. He is a member of the medical panel for the nationwide Drinkaware campaign.

The first Ian Stevenson was awarded to Prof. Marion McMurdo for her outstanding contribution to engaging older adults in her research projects and sharing results on an international scale.

Prof. McMurdo presented a talk on her research during Dundee Science Festival from 1st-14th November 2010.