Skip to main content

"By creating we think, by living we learn" Patrick Geddes

Main University menu

Job Vacancies

Templates Top-Level Menu

Deans of School / School Managers, and Directors of Professional Services

(Information as at October 2016)


School of Art and Design


Dean of School: Professor Paul Harris

School Manager: Mrs Fiona Brown

School Structure

Communication Design
Contemporary Art Practice
Design and Craft
Social Digital
Art and Design Office


Back to top

School of Dentistry


Dean of School : Professor Mark Hector

School Manager : Miss Lorraine Robertson

School Structure

Dentistry Office


Back to top

School of Education and Social Work


Dean of School: Professor Tim Kelly

Depute Dean of School: Professor Teresa Moran

Associate Dean, Research: Professor Divya Jindal-Snape

Associate Dean, Quality & Academic Standards: Mr Neil Taylor

Associate Dean, Internationalisation: Dr Richard Ingram

Associate Dean, Learning & Teaching: Mrs Mary Knight

School Manager: Mrs Grainne Barr

School Structure

Community Learning and Development
Social Work 
Education and Social Work Office


Back to top

School of Humanities


Dean of School: Professor Jim Livesey

Associate Dean, Learning & Teaching: Dr Aliki Varvogli

Associate Dean, Research & Scholarship: Dr Murray Frame

Associate Dean, Knowledge Exchange & Partnerships: Professor Chris Murray

Associate Dean, Internationalisation: 

Associate Dean, Quality Assurance & Standards: Dr Alan MacDonald

School Manager:  Mrs Brenda Murphy

School Structure

Continuing Education
Centre for Archive and Information Studies
Humanities Office


Back to top

School of Life Sciences


Dean of School: Professor Julian Blow

Acting Associate Dean, Research:  Professor Claire Halpin

Associate Dean, Professional Culture: Professor Inke Nathke

Associate Dean, Learning & Teaching: Dr Nick Brewer

Associate Dean, Quality & Academic Standards: Professor Jenny Woof

Associate Dean, International: Dr Kim Dale

School Manager: Mrs Maggie Ogston

School Structure

Centre for Advanced Scientific Technologies
 Biological Services
D'Arcy Thompson Unit
 Biological Chemistry and Drug Discovery
Cell and Developmental Biology
Cell Signalling and Immunology
Computational Biology
Drug Discovery Unit
Gene Regulation and Expression
Geomicrobiology Group
Molecular Microbiology
MRC Protein Phosphorylation and Ubiquitylation Unit
Nucleic Acid Structure
Plant Sciences
UK National Phenotypic Screening Centre
Life Sciences Office

 Back to top

School of Medicine


Dean of School : Professor Gary Mires

School Manager : Dr Laura Lightfoot

School Structure

Undergraduate Medical Education
Postgraduate Medical Education
Cancer Research
Population Health Sciences
Health and Clinical Services
Molecular and Clinical Medicine
Medicine Office


Back to top

School of Nursing and Health Studies


Dean of School : Professor Lynn Kilbride

School Manager : Mrs Jennifer Donachie 

School Structure

Health Sciences
Nursing and Health Sciences Office


Back to top

School of Science and Engineering


Dean of School : Professor Iain Stewart

School Manager : Mrs Kathleen Fotheringham

School Structure

Centre for Anatomy and Human Identification
Civil Engineering
Electronic Engineering
Mechanical Engineering
Science and Engineering Office


Back to top

School of Social Sciences


Dean of School: Professor John Rowan

Associate Dean, Quality Assurance: Dr Alison Reeves

Associate Dean, Research: Professor Nicholas Fyfe

Associate Dean, Learning & Teaching: Professor Graeme Hutton

Associate Dean, Admissions & Student Recruitment: Dr Bill Russell

Associate Dean, Internationalisation: Professor Peter McEleavy

School Manager: Miss Rebecca Leiper

School Structure

Centre for Energy and Petroleum and Mineral Law and Policy
Geography and Environmental Science
Politics and International Relations
Water Law
Business and Management Studies
Architecture and Urban Planning
Social Sciences Office


Back to top

Professional Services

Academic and Corporate Governance


Director  : Mr Neale Laker

Directorate Structure

Educational Partnerships Development
Quality and Academic Standards


Back to top

Estates and Campus Services


Director : Mr Colin McNally

Directorate Structure

Estates and Campus Services Office
Botanic Gardens
Estates and Buildings
Precinct Services


Back to top

External Relations


Director : Mr Thomas Veit

Directorate Structure

External Relations Office
Admissions and Student Recruitment
Alumni and Development
Design and Print
Marketing and Communications


Back to top



Director : Mr Andrew Hewett

Directorate Structure

Finance Office
Accounts Payable
Accounts Receivable
Management Accounting
Payroll and Pensions
Research Finance Services
School Finance


Back to top

HR and Organisational Development


Director : Mrs Pamela Milne

Directorate Structure

HR Office
Human Resources
Organisational and Professional Development
Safety Services
Equality and Diversity


Back to top

Institute of Sport and Exercise


Director : Mr Brian Ewing

Directorate Structure

ISE Office
Sport and Exercise
Sports Union


Back to top

Library and Learning Centre and Culture and Information


Director : Mr Richard Parsons

Directorate Structure

LLC and CI Office
Centre for Technology and Innovation in Learning
Culture and Information
Research and Resources
Service Delivery


Back to top

Research and Innovation


Director : Ms Diane Taylor

Directorate Structure

Research and Innovation Services


Back to top

Student Services


Director : Mr Graham Nicholson

Directorate Structure

Student Services Office
CASTLE Careers and EIS
Support Hub


 Back to top

University Executive Office


Director : Mr Jim McGeorge

Directorate Structure

Business Transformation
NHS Liaison
Strategic Planning


Back to top



Director : Dr Jonathan Monk

Directorate Structure

UoDIT Office
Business Services
End User Services
Infrastructure and Research Computing Services


Back to top