What is Staff Council?

The Charter of the University of Dundee states that:

There shall be a Staff Council of the University which shall consist of all the staff of the University and such  other  members  of  the  University  as  shall  be  designated  by  the  Senatus. The  Principal  shall  be Chairperson of the Staff Council.

The  powers  and  functions  of  the  Staff  Council  and  all  other  matters  relative  thereto  which  it  may  be thought proper so to regulate shall be as prescribed in the Statutes or Ordinances.

Election Information

Staff Council Member to Serve on Court

An election was held to fill a vacancy for a non-academic member of Staff Council to serve a four-year term on Court. Susan Walker was elected and will serve as a Staff Council Member on Court for a 4-year term of office from 1st August 2022.

Staff Council to Court 2022 Election Result

Staff Council Member to Serve on Senate

An election was held to fill two vacancies for academic members of Staff Council to serve a four-year term on Senate. Professor Niamh Nic Daeid and Professor Kim Dale were elected at the first stage and will serve as Staff Council Members on Senate for a 4-year term of office from 1st August 2021.

 Staff Council to Senate 2021 Election Result

Information on Staff Council can also be found in:

Regulations regarding elections to Court and Senatus Academicus by the Staff Council:

Representatives on Court and Senatus

Two representatives of the Council are elected from time to time to serve on the Court and the Senatus. The Council's current elected members on Court are Professor Sir Michael Ferguson and Susan Walker and the current elected members on the Senatus are Professor Kim Dale and Professor Niamh Nic Daeid.

Staff Council Standing Committee

As stated in Ordinance 27, There shall be a Standing Committee of the Staff Council consisting of twenty one members.
Each School shall elect two members, one of whom shall be and one of whom shall not be an academic member of staff.

The Professional Services shall elect three members.

The functions of the Standing Committee shall be as follows:

  1. to prepare the agenda for meetings of the Staff Council;
  2. to advise concerning the calling of Special Meetings of the Staff Council under Statute 15(3)and on the calling of meetings of the Staff Council outside term time;
  3. such other functions as the Staff Council may from time to time determine.

Regulations regarding the election of Staff Council Standing Committees:

A list of those currently serving on the Standing Committee can be found here (Sharepoint Link).