The University Research and Knowledge Exchange Committee (RKEC) is charged with providing strategic leadership to the Schools on all matters associated with the University's research endeavour and associated enterprise and commercial activities.

The alignment of institutional level research objectives with School strategic planning processes is a primary function of the Committee as is providing strategic oversight for the development of the University’s submissions to the Research Excellence Framework (REF).

The Committee also supports Schools in setting the framework for securing external research and infrastructure funding from sector-wide initiatives operated by bodies such as the Scottish Funding Council and UK Research and Innovation.

The Committee also oversees the Annual Review of Research, the Public Engagement Forum and Career Development of Research Staff. The Doctoral Academy Board and the Research Policy and Governance Sub-Committee also make regular reports to the Committee.

Committee Membership 2022/23

Convener: Vice-Principal (Research, Knowledge Exchange & Wider Impact)

  • Professor Calum Colvin (School of Art & Design)
  • Professor Norin Arshed (School of Business)
  • Professor Jan Clarkson (School of Dentistry)
  • Vacant (School of Humanities, Social Sciences & Law)
  • Professor Claire Halpin (School of Life Sciences)
  • Professor Colin Palmer (School of Medicine)
  • Dr Elaine Lee (School of Health Sciences)
  • Professor Amin Abdolvand (School of Science & Engineering)
  • Professor Inke Nathke (Convener of Research Governance & Policy Sub-Committee)
  • Professor Michael Gratzke (Director of Doctoral Academy)
  • Ajit Trivedi (Head of Equality & Diversity)
  • Dr David McBeth (Director of Research & Innovation Services)
  • Dr Clive Randall (Research Policy Manager)
  • Daniela Bolle (Head of Research Development)
  • Dr Richard Parsons (Director of Library & Learning Centre)
  • Pamela Houston (Head of Research Finance)
  • Margaret Teven (Head of Research Impact & Culture)
  • Dr Ann Brown (Business Transformation)
  • Hannah Whaley (Research & Resources LLC)
  • Dr Jon Urch (Public Engagement & Major Events)
  • Dr Gilbert Ramsay (Organisational & Professional Development, Researcher & Development)

Committee Secretary: Dr Martin Glover

This Committee reports to the Senatus.