• To provide institutional leadership and promote best practice on all matters relating to research degrees and research students;
  • To consider strategic issues in relation to research degrees and students;
  • To provide a forum for the discussion of external policy issues relating to research degrees and students, for instance from the Research Councils or other funding bodies;
  • To oversee generic degree regulations for all research degrees;
  • To oversee programme approval mechanisms for new research degrees;
  • To oversee the content and implementation of the Code of Practice for Supervised Postgraduate Research, including determining institutional mechanisms for monitoring student progression on research degrees;
  • To oversee quality assurance arrangements for research degrees including the periodic review of research programmes in individual Schools and/or Colleges;
  • To ensure the appropriate training and development of research supervisors.

The Sub-Committee reports to the Research Committee

Members 2022-23

Convener: Professor Michael Gratzke - Doctoral Academy Director

  • Dr Sandra Oza - Doctoral Academy Manager
  • Dr Shaleph O’Neill - School of Art & Design
  • Dr Sarah Jones - School of Dentistry
  • Dr Edward Hall - School of Humanities, Social Sciences and Law
  • Professor Carol MacKintosh - School of Life Sciences
  • Dr Graham Rena - School of Medicine
  • Dr Anna Gavine - School of Health Sciences
  • Dr Alan Cuthbertson - School of Science & Engineering
  • Dr Sudharshan Paramati (deputy) - School of Business
  • Erica Hensens - Director of Quality & Academic Standards
  • Dr Shane Collins - Director of Student Recruitment and Admissions
  • Dr Edgar Huitema - Professional Doctorate Programme Lead
  • Caitlin McDonald - Doctoral Academy Administrator
  • Dr Lorraine Anderson - Student Services
  • Hannah Whaley - Assistant Director (LLC)
  • Dr Lisa Anderson - OPD
  • Judith Miller - Registry
  • Dr Kirsty Stewart - Student Services
  • Vice-President - DUSA
  • SRC RPG Representative - DUSA
  • Lorraine Robertson - School Manager Membership

Committee Secretary: Dr Martin Glover