Chair of Court election results

Outcome of election

The outcome of the election for the position of Chair of the University Court.

Voting was open between 9.00am on 12 March and 5.00pm on 15 March 2019 and the election was run online using the first past the post method, in accordance with the University’s Regulations for the Appointment of the Chairperson of Court.

  • Number of Voters: 20,345
  • Number of Votes Cast:  455
  • Turn out: 2.2%
Ronnie Bowie 290
David Walker 159
Abstentions 6

Ronnie Bowie, having received the highest number of votes cast is therefore duly elected as the Chair of Court and and will serve for a period of 3 years from 1 August 2019. 

Dr Jim McGeorge, Returning Officer and University Secretary

Statistical summary of the candidates at the application, interview and election
In accordance with the Higher Education Governance (Scotland) Act 2016


Information about the role of the Chair of Court

The Court has 24 members in total and approves the University's strategic plans, as well as financial, human resources, estates, and other operational strategies which underpin them, and monitors the University’s performance in achieving its goals.

Learn more about the Court: