This page is for staff who have been affected by gender-based violence or who have received a disclosure of gender-based violence.

If you are a student or are looking to report an incident, please visit the pages linked below

 

Is it an emergency?

If you are off-campus and it’s an emergency, please call 999.

If you are on campus and it’s an emergency which requires an ambulance, please call the Security emergency line on 4141 on city campus or 2222 from Ninewells, 9-999 from Kirkcaldy. Please call 1382 384141 if using a mobile phone.

Non-emergency number is 85850 or 01382 385850 or if you are close by to one of the Assistance points installed around campus, press the red button to be connected to the Security Team.

 

What is gender-based violence?

Our hope is that you never experience gender-based violence (GBV) but we also know that it is a major issue facing society. It is a term that covers a range of abuse and can include:

  • Domestic abuse
  • Rape and Sexual Assault
  • Child sexual abuse
  • Stalking, sexual harassment and intimidation
  • Commercial sexual exploitation including prostitution, pornography and trafficking
  • Dowry-related abuse
  • Female Genital Mutilation
  • Forced Marriage

Gender-based violence can affect anyone at any point during their lives. It affects people in different ways, but it can often lead to victim/survivors feeling alone, isolated, angry and worried. It can also lead to depression, anxiety, flashbacks, sleep problems, problems with eating, and being unable to concentrate.

 

Options for support

The University of Dundee is committed to ensuring that our campuses are a safe place and that we support students to achieve their full potential. We have made our statement on GBV available.

First Responders

If you have been affected by gender-based violence and would like to speak to someone, you may contact our First Responders. These colleagues are a trained network of staff who can listen and provide a respectful, non-judgemental and supportive environment whilst outlining your options to report.

Dr. Dumiso Moyo D.Moyo@dundee.ac.uk
Dr. Kevin McConville K.McConville@dundee.ac.uk 
Dr. Louise Stanley l.z.stanley@dundee.ac.uk 
Dr. Mohammad Islam m.r.y.islam@dundee.ac.uk 
Miss Ailen Geraghty a.geraghty@dundee.ac.uk
Miss Joanne Bradley j.v.bradley@dundee.ac.uk 
Mr. David Melville D.Melville@dundee.ac.uk 
Mr. Mark Skeldon M.Skeldon@dundee.ac.uk 
Mr. Sean Reilly s.t.reilly@dundee.ac.uk 
Mr. Stuart Butler s.x.butler@dundee.ac.uk 
Mrs. Carolyn Johnstone c.c.johnstone@dundee.ac.uk 
Mrs. Dianne Cantali d.l.cantali@dundee.ac.uk 
Mrs. Jacquie Garbett j.garbett@dundee.ac.uk 
Mrs. Margaret Wyllie m.l.wyllie@dundee.ac.uk 
Mrs. Marj Davis m.davis@dundee.ac.uk 

 

What to do if someone discloses to you


Offer the person the option to speak with a trained First Responder in the first instance

DoDon't
Stay calm and respectful  Panic or be alarmed
Listen and ask what the person needs

Assume you know what the person needs

Empower the person and talk through options Make decisions or take away choices
Go at their pace  Push for details, reactions or hurry the person
Consider how you speak about GBV Assume you know if someone is a survivor of GBV
Believe and validate Blame or minimise
Get support for yourself Take on too much or make promises you can't keep

Additional Support 

Harassment Advisors

Support for Staff

External resources

Mental Health First Aid Contact