A photograph of Stephen FryThe annual Stephen Fry Public Engagement Awards recognise our staff and students, and their work engaging non-academic audiences. Winners and nominees of the Awards are recognised for their crucial role in organising and delivering excellent public engagement, enhancing benefits to society and improving their own skills.

The University of Dundee presents the awards each January during our Discovery Days event. The winner/s in each category present their work at this public showcase.

Each winner receives a trophy and can access up to £1500 of funding to support their future public engagement activities.

Who can apply?

The Stephen Fry Public Engagement Awards are open to all current student and staff at the University of Dundee. Self-nominations are welcome.

Three Award Categories

The University recognises there are different ways to engage with people, communities and organisations.  To support all types of engagement, we award winning applications and commendations in three categories.

• The Public Engagement Project of the Year is awarded to teams who have made outstanding contributions to public engagement with any aspect of the University's activity

• The Engaged Early Career Researcher of the Year is awarded to a research postgraduate (RPGs) or an early-career researcher who has shown excellence in engaging audiences with the University’s research.

• The Engaged Researcher of the Year is awarded to a senior member of staff who has shown excellence in engaging audiences with the University’s research.

Previous Winners

The Stephen Fry Public Engagement Awards have been awarded annually since 2012. Follow this link to find out more about previous winners of the Stephen Fry Awards.

From L-R, Dr Senga Robertson-Albertyn (Engaged Early Career Researcher), Prof Mel Woods (GROW Observatory - Public EngagementProject of the Year) and Dr Amy Rogers (Engaged Researcher of the Year).

Contact Us

Do you have any questions or comments about the Stephen Fry Awards? Then please contact Jon Urch at engage@dundee.ac.uk or phone 01382 386669.