Organisational structure and leadership

The organisational structure and leadership of the University of Dundee

On this page

Organisational structure

Academic schools

The University of Dundee is organised into eight schools. In addition, all of these schools have associated research centres or units.

Academic schools Research centres and units

Professional Services

Professional Services support research and teaching across the University to deliver an excellent staff and student experience

Professional services


University Executive Group

The University Executive Group provides leadership to the University. It is accountable to University Court for performing to the budget approved by the University Court and responsible for safeguarding the University’s reputation and external profile.

University Executive Group


The Chancellor is the nominal head of the University, with ceremonial responsibilities including presiding at Graduations. The Chancellor also nominates a lay assessor to be their representative on the Court.


The Rector is a lay person elected by the students of the University to represent their interests.